You Text, You Drive, You Pay | Law Offices of Brian J. Mongelluzzo
On September 3, 2014 State Police released a new campaign in an effort to get drivers to stop texting and driving – You Text, You Drive, You Pay.
Texting while driving is dangerous and causes accidents. People don’t think before they text, they just do it. State Police want to put an end to it in an effort for Connecticut’s zero tolerance for distracted drivers.
“You are taking your eyes off the road so you get the same things like you do for drunk drivers. They will swerve from one lane to another or into the lane next to them. The slowing down, the speeding up,” said Trooper Christopher Meiers while News 8’s Bob Wilson patrolled with him.
New Fines for Texting and Driving in Connecticut
There have been many offenses that have triggered this campaign as well as the fines increasing. The first offense of texting and driving is $150, the second is $300, and the third $500 and it will also be used for talking on the phone while driving. The fines used to range from $125 for a first offense, $250 for a second violation, and $400 for each subsequent violation. This shows a major increase from past years.
“People don’t get it. Unless you hit someone in the pocket, a lot of times they don’t pay attention. It doesn’t hit home,” said Meiers.
It shouldn’t have to take a tragedy to make people stop texting and driving. If people continue to text and not pay attention to the road that is exactly what’s going to happen.
**If you, a family member or friend has been injured in an auto accident due to texting while driving, call BJM Law. Please contact one of our knowledgeable personal injury attorneys at (203) 663-3695.
**The information in this article is for general purposes only. Nothing in this article should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. The information is not intended to create an attorney- client relationship.
Ready to Speak With an Attorney?
Reach Out to Our Firm for a Free Case Evaluation!