Keeping Little Ones Safe | Law Offices of Brian J. Mongelluzzo
New Jersey’s revised car seat laws could mean big changes for families. The new regulations require toddlers under the age of 2 and 30 lbs. remain in a rear-facing car seats. Older children must remain in booster seats until they are either age 8 or 57 inches. This has many Connecticut residents double checking the safety regulations for their young riders.
In Connecticut, infants must remain in a rear-facing car seat until they are a minimum of 20 lbs. and one year old. Toddlers must remain in a car seat until they exceed the height and weight limits of their car seat. It is important to replace your child’s car seat after it has expired or been in the car during an accident. Children must ride in a booster seat with a lap and shoulder belt until they are 7 years old and 60 lbs.
Violators of Connecticut car seat law must pay a fine and attend a 2 hour safety course at the Department of Motor Vehicles. Think twice about who calls shotgun when you head out on the road.
**Past results do not serve as a guarantee future results.
**The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. The information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute an attorney-client relationship
**The choice of a lawyer is an important decision and should not be based solely on advertisements.
Ready to Speak With an Attorney?
Reach Out to Our Firm for a Free Case Evaluation!